The Selfridges new ecommerce store

So I put my name down on some list which resulted in me being invited to the Selfridges new ecommerce store.

So here it is, for all those interested;

Working in a webby capacity I like to think I know a wee bit about web design, and on the design front I would say overall the website is easy to use, image heavy and will make for a reasonably pleasant shopping experience. Navigation through the website is simple, but at times the background imagery made it very difficult to read the text but in general I found the site easy to browse, fun and added functionalities such as the ‘more like this’ option in the product pages, the brand rooms and the self style pages all encouraged me to move through the pages and really engage with the brand- the permanent Information Desk at the bottom of the desk is also incredibly help should you require further help!

The website hosts a good selection of brands (from Warehouse to Herve Leger) and products- stretching way beyond just clothing with them selling flowers, homeware and beauty products online. For this reason, I think Selfridges online will be quite a force to be reckoned with and will likely pose quite a risk to online designer retailers ASOS, My-Wardrobe and Net-A-Porter. Having already established quite a strong footing in the high street I foresee that Selfridges online will be quite the success!!

Leave a Reply

